UNDERWOOD INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS LLC
Indianapolis, IN · MC identifier not reported
Based in Indianapolis, Indiana, UNDERWOOD INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS LLC (USDOT 182286) operates a private fleet with 19 power units and 12 drivers. Inspectors identified 3 different power units by VIN in two years; it reports 19. It reported 133,000 miles for 2025, about 7,000 per power unit.
From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Oct 28, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus
- Safety rating is more than 5 years old
Company identity and reported operations
| USDOT number | 182286 |
|---|---|
| Legal name | UNDERWOOD INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS LLC |
| Doing business as / DBA | Not reported |
| MC docket identifiers | Not reported |
| Reported physical address | 3116 N RITTER AVE, INDIANAPOLIS, IN, 46218, US |
| Reported business phone | (317) 543-9262 |
| Reported power units | 19 |
| Reported drivers | 12 |
| Reported MCS-150 date | May 14, 2026 |
| Company officers (as filed) | Kyle Underwood |
| Carrier operation | Interstate |
| Entity type | Carrier, Shipper |
| Hazmat indicator | No |
| Business organization (recorded at review) | Corporation |
| Latest FMCSA review | Compliance review · Aug 18, 2010 |
| Census status code | A |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory |
| Safety rating date | Aug 19, 2010 |
Fleet, equipment and drivers
UNDERWOOD INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS LLC reports this equipment and these drivers on its MCS-150. Owned, term-leased and trip-leased units are counted separately.
No change in power units or drivers since CarrierTrail first recorded this carrier on Sep 12, 2026.
Counts as filed on the carrier’s MCS-150. Miles per power unit divides the reported annual miles by the reported power units.
Public inspection, violation and crash summary
FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-09-25 through 2026-09-24.
3 roadside inspections between Sep 2024 and Sep 2026, in 3 states. Inspected in 3 of 25 months; busiest Apr 2026 with 1.
| Inspections | 3 |
|---|---|
| Driver out-of-service rate | 33.3% (1 of 3) |
| Vehicle out-of-service rate | 33.3% (1 of 3) |
| Violations | 11 across 3 inspections |
| Out-of-service violations | 3 |
| Crashes | 0 |
| Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes | 0 / 0 / 0 |
| Fatalities / injuries reported | 0 / 0 |
Most frequent published violation codes
39111B4CLHAMedical (Certificate) - Operating a commercial vehicle without corrective lenses or hearing aid as indicated on the driver's medical certificate13922SLLHOSState/Local Laws - State/Local Hours of Service13922SLLTCDState/Local Laws - Failed to obey a traffic control device - Permanent or Temporary - e.g. safety official signal sign light lane marking other139343DBMABrake - Breakaway not attached to the towing vehicle139345B2BAIRAir Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured1
Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.
Compare the reported Indianapolis record
UNDERWOOD INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS LLC reports 19 power units. The Indianapolis, Indiana directory contains 17,005 census records, of which 15,149 report at least one power unit.
Reported cargo and business classification
UNDERWOOD INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS LLC reports PRIVATE PROPERTY in the census and lists 6 cargo categories.
- Metal sheets, coils and rolls
- Logs, poles, beams and lumber
- Building materials
- Machinery and large objects
- Construction
- Other: COMP GAS CYLINDERS
Fleet size in local context
| Power units | Records | Share of all city records |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 1,856 | 10.9% |
| 1 | 9,566 | 56.3% |
| 2–5 | 4,027 | 23.7% |
| 6–20: this carrier’s band | 1,142 | 6.7% |
| 21–100 | 328 | 1.9% |
| Over 100 | 86 | 0.5% |
| Unknown / other | 0 | 0.0% |
Record dates and observed changes
- Added to the census (not company founding date)
- Jun 01, 1974
- Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
- May 14, 2026
- Census source publication
- Oct 28, 2026 10:49 UTC
- First observed by CarrierTrail
- Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC
Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.
Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.
No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.
Authority and insurance
No matching authority or insurance filings were found in the latest check.
Shared contact details
How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 182286. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.
Explore these reported cargo categories
Building materialsMachinery and large objectsMetal sheets, coils and rollsLogs, poles, beams and lumber
Compare declared categories across states.
Check the official record
Monitor this carrier after your review
Use a private workspace to save USDOT 182286, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.