Public carrier record · USDOT 716690

OWEN ELECTRIC STEEL COMPANY OF SOUTH CAROLINA

Cayce, SC · MC 201245

From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Sep 30, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus

1 note

  • Phone number shared with 5 other census records

Observations from public fields, not findings about the company. Check the official record and the context before deciding.

AuthorityActive1 active of 1 on file
Insurance2 on fileinsurance filings
Safety ratingNot ratedno rating date
Power units98as reported
Drivers60as reported
Inspections67last 24 months

Company identity and reported operations

Public census details for USDOT 716690
USDOT number716690
Legal nameOWEN ELECTRIC STEEL COMPANY OF SOUTH CAROLINA
Doing business as / DBANot reported
MC docket identifiersMC 201245
Reported physical address310 NEW STATE ROAD, CAYCE, SC, 29003, US
Reported business phone(205) 599-7761
Reported power units98
Reported drivers60
Reported MCS-150 dateJan 06, 2026
Company officers (as filed)Scott Johnson, Scott Johnson
Carrier operationInterstate
Census status codeA
Safety ratingNot reported
Safety rating dateNot reported

Public inspection, violation and crash summary

FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-08-28 through 2026-08-27.

Out-of-service rates

  • Driver inspections1.5%1 of 67
  • Vehicle inspections48.5%16 of 33

Share of this carrier’s recorded roadside inspections that ended in an out-of-service order.

Inspections67
Driver out-of-service rate1.5% (1 of 67)
Vehicle out-of-service rate48.5% (16 of 33)
Violations41 across 24 inspections
Out-of-service violations20
Crashes3
Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes0 / 1 / 3
Fatalities / injuries reported0 / 1

Most frequent published violation codes

  • 393134BCRHLCRoll-on/Roll-off/Hook Lift Containers - Improper securement of a roll-on/roll-off and hook lift container4
  • 39375A3TAOLTires - All others leaking or inflation less than 50% of the maximum inflation pressure on tire not equipped with ATIS4
  • 39345B2BAIRAir Brake - Hose/tubing damaged or not secured3
  • 39345DBAir Brake - Audible air leak at a proper connection2
  • 39355EBAir Brake - ABS malfunction lamp defective on trailers manufactured on or after March 1 19982

Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.

How CarrierTrail uses public safety data →

Reported cargo and business classification

OWEN ELECTRIC STEEL COMPANY OF SOUTH CAROLINA reports PRIVATE PROPERTY;AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE in the census and lists 4 cargo categories.

  • General freight
  • Metal sheets, coils and rolls
  • Motor vehicles
  • Other: SCRAP METAL

Record dates and observed changes

Added to the census (not company founding date)
Dec 02, 1997
Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
Jan 06, 2026
Census source publication
Sep 30, 2026 10:52 UTC
First observed by CarrierTrail
Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC

Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.

Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.

No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.

Authority and insurance

Authority filings

DocketReported authority typeReported statusBIPD requiredBIPD on file
MC201245Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)Active$750,000$5,000,000

Insurance filings

DocketInsurerCoverageEffective dateFormPolicy
MC201245Federal Insurance Company$5,000,000Oct 01, 2026BMC-91XISA H08893391
MC201245Ace American Insurance Company$5,000,000Oct 01, 2025BMC-91XISAH08889739
Sources and check dates

Checked Oct 01, 2026 16:21 UTC.

Missing matches do not establish missing authority or insurance. Filing records are shown as published; check current status before booking.

Operating authority timeline

Status changes and notices recorded against OWEN ELECTRIC STEEL COMPANY OF SOUTH CAROLINA’s operating authority dockets, newest first, from the FMCSA authority history and notices datasets.

  1. ReinstatedMC201245 · Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)

A notice or status line describes the docket, not the reason behind it. Check Motus for the current status before booking.

Shared contact details

How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 716690. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.

See the connected carriers in a workspace →

Explore these reported cargo categories

Compare declared categories across states.

Check the official record

Data sources and limitations

Monitor this carrier after your review

Use a private workspace to save USDOT 716690, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.

Monitor this carrier →