Public carrier record · USDOT 23920

THE NAPP-GRECCO COMPANY

Newark, NJ · MC identifier not reported

THE NAPP-GRECCO COMPANY (USDOT 23920) runs a private fleet of 12 power units out of Newark, New Jersey. Roadside inspections recorded 3 different power units by VIN over two years, against 12 reported. It is registered as a hazmat carrier; 1 inspection involved a placarded load.

From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Oct 28, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus

AuthorityNone matchedin the latest check
InsuranceNone matchedin the latest check
Safety ratingSatisfactoryFeb 13, 1991
Power units12as reported
Drivers18as reported
Inspections3latest Sep 04, 2026

Company identity and reported operations

Public census details for USDOT 23920
USDOT number23920
Legal nameTHE NAPP-GRECCO COMPANY
Doing business as / DBANot reported
MC docket identifiersNot reported
Reported physical address1500 MCCARTER HIGHWAY, NEWARK, NJ, 07104, US
Reported business phone(973) 482-3500
Reported power units12
Reported drivers18
Reported MCS-150 dateSep 19, 2024
Company officers (as filed)Joseph M Napp
Carrier operationInterstate
Entity typeCarrier
Hazmat indicatorYes
Mailing address1500 MCCARTER HWY, NEWARK, NJ, 07104
Business organization (recorded at review)Corporation
Latest FMCSA reviewCompliance review · Jan 30, 1991
Census status codeA
Safety ratingSatisfactory
Safety rating dateFeb 13, 1991

Fleet, equipment and drivers

THE NAPP-GRECCO COMPANY reports this equipment and these drivers on its MCS-150. Owned, term-leased and trip-leased units are counted separately.

36,587Reported annual miles (2023)
3,049Miles per power unit, calculated
15Drivers with a CDL of 18

Equipment by ownership

Owned Term Trip
  • Tractors88 owned
  • Straight trucks44 owned

Drivers by operating radius

18 reported
  • Interstate, 100+ mi00%
  • Interstate, under 100 mi739%
  • Intrastate, 100+ mi00%
  • Intrastate, under 100 mi1161%

Seen at roadside

last 24 months
3power units identified by VIN
12power units reported
  • Ford133%
  • Kenworth133%
  • Volvo133%

3 straight trucks

Each vehicle is counted once, by the VIN recorded at inspection; the VINs are not shown. Leased and shared vehicles can make this differ from the reported fleet.

No change in power units or drivers since CarrierTrail first recorded this carrier on Sep 12, 2026.

Counts as filed on the carrier’s MCS-150. Miles per power unit divides the reported annual miles by the reported power units.

Public inspection, violation and crash summary

FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-09-25 through 2026-09-24.

Out-of-service rates

All carriers
  • Driver inspections33.3%1 of 3All carriers: 6.2%
  • Vehicle inspections0.0%0 of 3All carriers: 22.9%
  • Placarded hazmat loads0.0%0 of 1All carriers: 3.2%

Share of this carrier’s recorded roadside inspections that ended in an out-of-service order. The marker is the rate across every carrier in the same public file.

Inspections by month

Latest Sep 04, 2026
Sep 2024Sep 2026

Where it was inspected

1 state
AKMEWIVTNHWAIDMTNDMNILMINYMAORNVWYSDIAINOHPANJCTRICAUTCONEMOKYWVVAMDDEAZNMKSARTNNCSCOKLAMSALGAHITXFL

Most inspections: NJ 3

3 roadside inspections between Sep 2024 and Sep 2026, in 1 state. Inspected in 2 of 25 months; busiest Sep 2026 with 2.

Inspections3
Driver out-of-service rate33.3% (1 of 3)
Vehicle out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 3)
Violations2 across 2 inspections
Out-of-service violations1
Crashes0
Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes0 / 0 / 0
Fatalities / injuries reported0 / 0
Placarded hazmat inspections1 · 0 with a hazmat out-of-service order

Most frequent published violation codes

  • 172516C6HMPMCHM (Placarding) - Failure to maintain placard(s) in a condition so that the format legibility color and visibility of the placard will not be substantially red1
  • 39141APCMedical (Certificate) - Operating a property-carrying vehicle without a valid medical certificate in possession or on file with the state drivers licensing agency1

Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.

Compare the reported Newark record

THE NAPP-GRECCO COMPANY reports 12 power units. The Newark, New Jersey directory contains 6,604 census records, of which 5,450 report at least one power unit.

Reported cargo and business classification

THE NAPP-GRECCO COMPANY reports PRIVATE PROPERTY in the census and lists 5 cargo categories.

  • Logs, poles, beams and lumber
  • Building materials
  • Machinery and large objects
  • Construction
  • Other: FUEL OIL

Fleet size in local context

Reported power units across Newark census records
Power unitsRecordsShare of all city records
01,15417.5%
13,83758.1%
2–51,15617.5%
6–20: this carrier’s band3325.0%
21–1001061.6%
Over 100190.3%
Unknown / other00.0%

Record dates and observed changes

Added to the census (not company founding date)
Jun 01, 1974
Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
Sep 19, 2024
Census source publication
Oct 28, 2026 10:49 UTC
First observed by CarrierTrail
Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC

Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.

Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.

No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.

Authority and insurance

No matching authority or insurance filings were found in the latest check.

Shared contact details

How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 23920. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.

Explore these reported cargo categories

Compare declared categories across states.

Check the official record

Data sources and limitations

Monitor this carrier after your review

Use a private workspace to save USDOT 23920, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.

Monitor this carrier →