Public carrier record · USDOT 1971508

JOHN PORTMAN

DBA PORTMAN TRUCKING · Waco, TX · MC 831308

From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Sep 30, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus

Nothing flagged in the public fields we check

That is not a clearance. Check current authority, insurance and your own requirements before booking.

AuthorityActive1 active of 1 on file
Insurance1 on fileinsurance filings
Safety ratingNot ratedno rating date
Power units1as reported
Drivers1as reported
Inspections2last 24 months

Company identity and reported operations

Public census details for USDOT 1971508
USDOT number1971508
Legal nameJOHN PORTMAN
Doing business as / DBAPORTMAN TRUCKING
MC docket identifiersMC 831308
Reported physical address947 SILVER RIVER RD, WACO, TX, 76705, US
Reported business phone(254) 709-6830
Reported power units1
Reported drivers1
Reported MCS-150 dateJul 14, 2026
Company officers (as filed)John Portman
Carrier operationInterstate
Census status codeA
Safety ratingNot reported
Safety rating dateNot reported

Public inspection, violation and crash summary

FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-08-28 through 2026-08-27.

Out-of-service rates

  • Driver inspections0.0%0 of 2
  • Vehicle inspections0.0%0 of 2

Share of this carrier’s recorded roadside inspections that ended in an out-of-service order.

Inspections2
Driver out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 2)
Vehicle out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 2)
Violations4 across 1 inspections
Out-of-service violations0
Crashes0
Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes0 / 0 / 0
Fatalities / injuries reported0 / 0

Most frequent published violation codes

  • 39355ENo or Defective ABS Malfunction Indicator Lamp for trailer manufactured after 03/01/19981
  • 39378Wipers - Inoperative / missing / damaged wipers1
  • 3939Inoperable Required Lamp1
  • 39395FEmergency Equipment - Stopped vehicle warning devices missing or improper1

Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.

How CarrierTrail uses public safety data →

Compare the reported Waco record

JOHN PORTMAN reports 1 power units. The Waco, Texas directory contains 1,180 census records, of which 1,047 report at least one power unit.

Reported cargo and business classification

JOHN PORTMAN reports AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE in the census and lists 3 cargo categories.

  • General freight
  • Mobile homes
  • Other: AGGREGATE

Fleet size in local context

Reported power units across Waco census records
Power unitsRecordsShare of all city records
013311.3%
1: this carrier’s band66856.6%
2–527323.1%
6–20837.0%
21–100181.5%
Over 10050.4%
Unknown / other00.0%

Record dates and observed changes

Added to the census (not company founding date)
Dec 01, 2009
Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
Jul 14, 2026
Census source publication
Sep 30, 2026 10:52 UTC
First observed by CarrierTrail
Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC

Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.

Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.

No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.

Authority and insurance

Authority filings

DocketReported authority typeReported statusBIPD requiredBIPD on file
MC831308Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)Active$750,000$750,000

Insurance filings

DocketInsurerCoverageEffective dateFormPolicy
MC831308PROGRESSIVE COUNTY MUTUAL$750,000Jun 26, 2021BMC-91XCA03829350
Sources and check dates

Checked Oct 01, 2026 16:21 UTC.

Missing matches do not establish missing authority or insurance. Filing records are shown as published; check current status before booking.

Operating authority timeline

Status changes and notices recorded against JOHN PORTMAN’s operating authority dockets, newest first, from the FMCSA authority history and notices datasets.

  1. GrantedMC831308 · Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)

A notice or status line describes the docket, not the reason behind it. Check Motus for the current status before booking.

Shared contact details

How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 1971508. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.

Explore these reported cargo categories

Compare declared categories across states.

Check the official record

Data sources and limitations

Monitor this carrier after your review

Use a private workspace to save USDOT 1971508, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.

Monitor this carrier →