Public carrier record · USDOT 122025

NILSON VAN & STORAGE

Columbia, SC · MC 109331

NILSON VAN & STORAGE (USDOT 122025, MC 109331), a carrier in Columbia, South Carolina, lists 43 power units and 36 drivers on its MCS-150. The public crash file lists 2 crashes for it in two years, 1 with a fatality. Inspectors identified 8 different power units by VIN in two years; it reports 43.

From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Oct 28, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus

AuthorityActive3 active · since Jun 1986
Insurance2 on fileinsurance filings
Safety ratingSatisfactoryDec 17, 1992
Power units43as reported
Drivers36as reported
Inspections11latest Aug 25, 2026

Company identity and reported operations

Public census details for USDOT 122025
USDOT number122025
Legal nameNILSON VAN & STORAGE
Doing business as / DBANot reported
MC docket identifiersMC 109331
Reported physical address6821 N MAIN STREET, COLUMBIA, SC, 29203, US
Reported business phone(803) 786-1090
Reported power units43
Reported drivers36
Reported MCS-150 dateMay 05, 2026
Company officers (as filed)Phyllis Nilson, Michael E Hollis
Carrier operationInterstate
Entity typeCarrier, Shipper, Broker
Hazmat indicatorNo
Mailing addressPO BOX 3219, COLUMBIA, SC, 29230
Business organization (recorded at review)Corporation
Latest FMCSA reviewCompliance review · Nov 25, 1992
Census status codeA
Safety ratingSatisfactory
Safety rating dateDec 17, 1992

Fleet, equipment and drivers

NILSON VAN & STORAGE reports this equipment and these drivers on its MCS-150. Owned, term-leased and trip-leased units are counted separately.

527,000Reported annual miles (2025)
12,256Miles per power unit, calculated
21Drivers with a CDL of 36

Equipment by ownership

Owned Term Trip
  • Tractors249 owned · 15 term-leased
  • Straight trucks1913 owned · 6 term-leased
  • Trailers5248 owned · 4 term-leased

Drivers by operating radius

36 reported
  • Interstate, 100+ mi1336%
  • Interstate, under 100 mi00%
  • Intrastate, 100+ mi2364%
  • Intrastate, under 100 mi00%

Seen at roadside

last 24 months
8power units identified by VIN
43power units reported
4trailers identified by VIN
  • Kenworth562%
  • Freightliner225%
  • International112%

6 tractors · 2 straight trucks

Each vehicle is counted once, by the VIN recorded at inspection; the VINs are not shown. Leased and shared vehicles can make this differ from the reported fleet.

No change in power units or drivers since CarrierTrail first recorded this carrier on Sep 12, 2026.

Counts as filed on the carrier’s MCS-150. Miles per power unit divides the reported annual miles by the reported power units.

Public inspection, violation and crash summary

FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-09-25 through 2026-09-24.

Out-of-service rates

All carriers
  • Driver inspections0.0%0 of 11All carriers: 6.2%
  • Vehicle inspections40.0%2 of 5All carriers: 22.9%

Share of this carrier’s recorded roadside inspections that ended in an out-of-service order. The marker is the rate across every carrier in the same public file.

Inspections by month

Latest Aug 25, 2026
Sep 2024Sep 2026

Where it was inspected

7 states
AKMEWIVTNHWAIDMTNDMNILMINYMAORNVWYSDIAINOHPANJCTRICAUTCONEMOKYWVVAMDDEAZNMKSARTNNCSCOKLAMSALGAHITXFL

Most inspections: GA 4 · SC 2 · MD 1 · MT 1 · NC 1 · TN 1

11 roadside inspections between Sep 2024 and Sep 2026, in 7 states. Inspected in 8 of 25 months; busiest Aug 2026 with 2.

Inspections11
Driver out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 11)
Vehicle out-of-service rate40.0% (2 of 5)
Violations9 across 5 inspections
Out-of-service violations2
Crashes2
Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes1 / 2 / 2
Fatalities / injuries reported1 / 4

Most frequent published violation codes

  • 3922SLLLRState/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation1
  • 3922SLLS2State/Local Laws - Speeding 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit1
  • 3922SLLS4State/Local Laws - Speeding 15 or more miles per hour over the speed limit1
  • 39311TLTruck-Tractor lower rear mud flaps retroreflective sheeting / reflex reflective material requirements for vehicles manufactured after July 19971
  • 39355C1BAir Brake - Truck-tractor manufactured on or after March 1 1997 not equipped with an ABS system. System does not function or indicates a fault.1

Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.

Compare the reported Columbia record

NILSON VAN & STORAGE reports 43 power units. The Columbia, South Carolina directory contains 4,010 census records, of which 3,338 report at least one power unit.

Reported cargo and business classification

NILSON VAN & STORAGE reports AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE in the census and lists 9 cargo categories.

  • General freight
  • Household goods
  • Building materials
  • Fresh produce
  • Intermodal containers
  • Meat
  • Refrigerated food
  • Utility
  • Construction

Fleet size in local context

Reported power units across Columbia census records
Power unitsRecordsShare of all city records
067216.8%
12,38859.6%
2–571717.9%
6–201644.1%
21–100: this carrier’s band521.3%
Over 100170.4%
Unknown / other00.0%

Record dates and observed changes

Added to the census (not company founding date)
Jun 01, 1974
Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
May 05, 2026
Census source publication
Oct 28, 2026 10:49 UTC
First observed by CarrierTrail
Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC

Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.

Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.

No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.

Authority and insurance

Authority filings

MC109331Active

Broker of Household Goods

First granted
Jun 13, 1986 40 yrs
BIPD required / on file
$0 / $1,000,000
Cargo insurance
Not required
Bond or trust fund
Required · not on file
MC109331Inactive

Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)

First granted
Jun 13, 1986 40 yrs
BIPD required / on file
$0 / $1,000,000
Cargo insurance
Not required
Bond or trust fund
Required · not on file
MC109331Active

Motor Carrier of Household Goods

First granted
Jun 13, 1986 40 yrs
BIPD required / on file
$750,000 / $1,000,000
Cargo insurance
Required · on file
Bond or trust fund
Not required
MC109331Active

Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)

First granted
Jun 13, 1986 40 yrs
BIPD required / on file
$750,000 / $1,000,000
Cargo insurance
Not required
Bond or trust fund
Not required

Insurance filings

DocketInsurerCoverageEffective dateFormPolicy
MC109331Vanliner Insurance Company$1,000,000Nov 19, 2025BMC-91XMRV 3258200-12
MC109331Vanliner Insurance Company$5,000Nov 19, 2025BMC-34CGV 3258200-13

Process agent (BOC-3)

  • Name not reportedLocation not reported · MC109331
  • AllAmerican Agents of ProcessSioux Falls, SD · MC109331

The company the carrier designated to receive legal papers in each state, as filed on its BOC-3.

Operating authority timeline

Status changes and notices recorded against NILSON VAN & STORAGE’s operating authority dockets, newest first, from the FMCSA authority history and notices datasets.

  1. Administrative status adjustmentMC109331 · Broker of Household Goods
  2. Administrative status adjustmentMC109331 · Broker of Property (Except Household Goods)
  3. GrantedMC109331 · Motor Carrier of Household Goods
  4. GrantedMC109331 · Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)

A notice or status line describes the docket, not the reason behind it. Check Motus for the current status before booking.

Shared contact details

How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 122025. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.

See the connected carriers in a workspace →

Explore these reported cargo categories

Compare declared categories across states.

Check the official record

Data sources and limitations

Monitor this carrier after your review

Use a private workspace to save USDOT 122025, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.

Monitor this carrier →