Public carrier record · USDOT 96654

AKIN & PORTER PRODUCE INC

Greenfield, TN · MC 216429, MC 216469

AKIN & PORTER PRODUCE INC (USDOT 96654, MC 216429) operates 7 power units with 6 drivers from Greenfield, Tennessee hauling general freight and fresh produce. Roadside inspections recorded 8 different power units by VIN, in line with its reported fleet of 7. Its vehicles were inspected 11 times over two years, most in Alabama.

From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Oct 28, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus

AuthorityActive1 active · since Apr 1989
Insurance1 on fileinsurance filings
Safety ratingSatisfactoryJul 30, 2026
Power units7as reported
Drivers6as reported
Inspections11latest Jan 22, 2026

Company identity and reported operations

Public census details for USDOT 96654
USDOT number96654
Legal nameAKIN & PORTER PRODUCE INC
Doing business as / DBANot reported
MC docket identifiersMC 216429, MC 216469
Reported physical address143 AIRPORT RD, GREENFIELD, TN, 38230-4008, US
Reported business phone(731) 235-2287
Reported power units7
Reported drivers6
Reported MCS-150 dateApr 13, 2026
Company officers (as filed)Brock Porter, Joe Porter
Carrier operationInterstate
Entity typeCarrier
Hazmat indicatorNo
Mailing addressP O BOX D, GREENFIELD, TN, 38230
Business organization (recorded at review)Corporation
Latest FMCSA reviewCompliance review · Jul 28, 2026
Census status codeA
Safety ratingSatisfactory
Safety rating dateJul 30, 2026

Fleet, equipment and drivers

AKIN & PORTER PRODUCE INC reports this equipment and these drivers on its MCS-150. Owned, term-leased and trip-leased units are counted separately.

657,199Reported annual miles (2025)
93,886Miles per power unit, calculated
6Drivers with a CDL of 6

Equipment by ownership

Owned Term Trip
  • Tractors77 owned
  • Trailers1010 owned

Drivers by operating radius

6 reported
  • Interstate, 100+ mi583%
  • Interstate, under 100 mi117%
  • Intrastate, 100+ mi00%
  • Intrastate, under 100 mi00%

Seen at roadside

last 24 months
8power units identified by VIN
7power units reported
7trailers identified by VIN
  • Kenworth8100%

8 tractors

Each vehicle is counted once, by the VIN recorded at inspection; the VINs are not shown. Leased and shared vehicles can make this differ from the reported fleet.

Fleet changes CarrierTrail observed

  1. First recorded: 7 power units · 4 drivers
  2. Drivers 4 → 6 +2

Counts as filed on the carrier’s MCS-150. Miles per power unit divides the reported annual miles by the reported power units.

Public inspection, violation and crash summary

FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-09-25 through 2026-09-24.

Out-of-service rates

All carriers
  • Driver inspections0.0%0 of 11All carriers: 6.2%
  • Vehicle inspections0.0%0 of 4All carriers: 22.9%

Share of this carrier’s recorded roadside inspections that ended in an out-of-service order. The marker is the rate across every carrier in the same public file.

Inspections by month

Latest Jan 22, 2026
Sep 2024Sep 2026

Where it was inspected

7 states
AKMEWIVTNHWAIDMTNDMNILMINYMAORNVWYSDIAINOHPANJCTRICAUTCONEMOKYWVVAMDDEAZNMKSARTNNCSCOKLAMSALGAHITXFL

Most inspections: AL 2 · GA 2 · MS 2 · TN 2 · FL 1 · NM 1

11 roadside inspections between Sep 2024 and Sep 2026, in 7 states. Inspected in 9 of 25 months; busiest Jan 2026 with 2.

Inspections11
Driver out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 11)
Vehicle out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 4)
Violations9 across 4 inspections
Out-of-service violations0
Crashes0
Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes0 / 0 / 0
Fatalities / injuries reported0 / 0

Most frequent published violation codes

  • 39524HOS (ELD) - ELD Form and Manner2
  • 39216ADDriver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV.1
  • 3922CFailure to obey traffic control device1
  • 39311LRNo Lower rear retroreflective sheeting or reflex reflective materials as required for vehicles manufactured after December 19931
  • 393203Cab/body parts requirements violations1

Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.

Reported cargo and business classification

AKIN & PORTER PRODUCE INC reports PRIVATE PROPERTY;AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE in the census and lists 4 cargo categories.

  • General freight
  • Fresh produce
  • Meat
  • Refrigerated food

Record dates and observed changes

Added to the census (not company founding date)
Jun 01, 1974
Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
Apr 13, 2026
Census source publication
Oct 28, 2026 10:49 UTC
First observed by CarrierTrail
Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC

Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.

Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.

Oct 11, 2026 14:17 UTC · changed

  • Business phone73123528877312352287
  • Drivers46
  • Operation classificationAUTHORIZED FOR HIREPRIVATE PROPERTY;AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE
  • Interstate drivers beyond 100 miles35
  • Interstate drivers46
  • Trip-leased drivers per month0Not reported
  • CDL drivers46

Authority and insurance

Authority filings

MC216429Active

Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)

First granted
Apr 28, 1989 37 yrs
BIPD required / on file
$750,000 / $1,000,000
Cargo insurance
Not required
Bond or trust fund
Not required

Insurance filings

DocketInsurerCoverageEffective dateFormPolicy
MC216429Phenix Mutual Fire Insurance Company$1,000,000Nov 01, 2020BMC-91X5000145296

Process agent (BOC-3)

  • Multi-States Agent For Process Inc.Medina, TN · MC216429

The company the carrier designated to receive legal papers in each state, as filed on its BOC-3.

Operating authority timeline

Status changes and notices recorded against AKIN & PORTER PRODUCE INC’s operating authority dockets, newest first, from the FMCSA authority history and notices datasets.

  1. GrantedMC216429 · Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)

A notice or status line describes the docket, not the reason behind it. Check Motus for the current status before booking.

Shared contact details

How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 96654. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.

See the connected carriers in a workspace →

Explore these reported cargo categories

Compare declared categories across states.

Check the official record

Data sources and limitations

Monitor this carrier after your review

Use a private workspace to save USDOT 96654, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.

Monitor this carrier →