Public carrier record · USDOT 642

CARHART LUMBER COMPANY

Wayne, NE · MC identifier not reported

CARHART LUMBER COMPANY (USDOT 642) runs a private fleet of 40 power units out of Wayne, Nebraska. FMCSA gave it a Conditional safety rating in May 1988. Roadside inspections recorded 13 different power units by VIN over two years, against 40 reported.

From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Oct 28, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus

AuthorityNone matchedin the latest check
InsuranceNone matchedin the latest check
Safety ratingConditionalMay 23, 1988
Power units40as reported
Drivers30as reported
Inspections15latest Sep 09, 2026

Company identity and reported operations

Public census details for USDOT 642
USDOT number642
Legal nameCARHART LUMBER COMPANY
Doing business as / DBANot reported
MC docket identifiersNot reported
Reported physical address105 MAIN STREET, WAYNE, NE, 68787, US
Reported business phone(402) 375-2112
Reported power units40
Reported drivers30
Reported MCS-150 dateFeb 14, 2026
Company officers (as filed)Scott B. Carhart, Brenda Kuhlman-Carhart
Carrier operationInterstate
Entity typeCarrier
Hazmat indicatorNo
Mailing addressBOX 430, WAYNE, NE, 68787
Business organization (recorded at review)Corporation
Latest FMCSA reviewSafety review · Apr 14, 1988
Census status codeA
Safety ratingConditional
Safety rating dateMay 23, 1988

Fleet, equipment and drivers

CARHART LUMBER COMPANY reports this equipment and these drivers on its MCS-150. Owned, term-leased and trip-leased units are counted separately.

188,262Reported annual miles (2025)
4,707Miles per power unit, calculated
8Drivers with a CDL of 30

Equipment by ownership

Owned Term Trip
  • Tractors11 owned
  • Straight trucks3939 owned
  • Trailers22 owned

Drivers by operating radius

30 reported
  • Interstate, 100+ mi00%
  • Interstate, under 100 mi30100%
  • Intrastate, 100+ mi00%
  • Intrastate, under 100 mi00%

Seen at roadside

last 24 months
13power units identified by VIN
40power units reported
2trailers identified by VIN
  • Chevrolet431%
  • Ford323%
  • Freightliner323%
  • GMC215%
  • International18%

13 straight trucks

Each vehicle is counted once, by the VIN recorded at inspection; the VINs are not shown. Leased and shared vehicles can make this differ from the reported fleet.

No change in power units or drivers since CarrierTrail first recorded this carrier on Sep 12, 2026.

Counts as filed on the carrier’s MCS-150. Miles per power unit divides the reported annual miles by the reported power units.

Public inspection, violation and crash summary

FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-09-25 through 2026-09-24.

Out-of-service rates

All carriers
  • Driver inspections0.0%0 of 15All carriers: 6.2%
  • Vehicle inspections10.0%1 of 10All carriers: 22.9%

Share of this carrier’s recorded roadside inspections that ended in an out-of-service order. The marker is the rate across every carrier in the same public file.

Inspections by month

Latest Sep 09, 2026
Sep 2024Sep 2026

Where it was inspected

1 state
AKMEWIVTNHWAIDMTNDMNILMINYMAORNVWYSDIAINOHPANJCTRICAUTCONEMOKYWVVAMDDEAZNMKSARTNNCSCOKLAMSALGAHITXFL

Most inspections: NE 15

15 roadside inspections between Sep 2024 and Sep 2026, in 1 state. Inspected in 13 of 25 months; busiest Sep 2025 with 2.

Inspections15
Driver out-of-service rate0.0% (0 of 15)
Vehicle out-of-service rate10.0% (1 of 10)
Violations7 across 5 inspections
Out-of-service violations2
Crashes0
Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes0 / 0 / 0
Fatalities / injuries reported0 / 0

Most frequent published violation codes

  • 3922MLFailure to Maintain Lane1
  • 393104BDamaged securement system/tiedowns1
  • 393104BCCargo - Damaged securement devices/tiedowns1
  • 39343DBBrake - Missing or inoperable breakaway braking system on a trailer(s) or converter dolly1
  • 39348ABIHEHydraulic/Electric Brake - Inoperative other than a steering axle.1

Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.

Reported cargo and business classification

CARHART LUMBER COMPANY reports PRIVATE PROPERTY in the census and lists 3 cargo categories.

  • Logs, poles, beams and lumber
  • Building materials
  • Construction

Record dates and observed changes

Added to the census (not company founding date)
Jun 01, 1974
Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
Feb 14, 2026
Census source publication
Oct 28, 2026 10:49 UTC
First observed by CarrierTrail
Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC

Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.

Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.

No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.

Authority and insurance

No matching authority or insurance filings were found in the latest check.

Shared contact details

How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 642. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.

Explore these reported cargo categories

Compare declared categories across states.

Check the official record

Data sources and limitations

Monitor this carrier after your review

Use a private workspace to save USDOT 642, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.

Monitor this carrier →