COLUMBUS EQUIPMENT COMPANY
Columbus, OH · MC identifier not reported
Based in Columbus, Ohio, COLUMBUS EQUIPMENT COMPANY (USDOT 239417) operates a private fleet with 70 power units and 82 drivers. Inspectors identified 5 different power units by VIN in two years; it reports 70. It is registered as a hazmat carrier.
From CarrierTrail’s copy of the FMCSA census, published Oct 28, 2026. Record present in this snapshot. Official record: SAFER · Motus
- Safety rating is more than 5 years old
Company identity and reported operations
| USDOT number | 239417 |
|---|---|
| Legal name | COLUMBUS EQUIPMENT COMPANY |
| Doing business as / DBA | Not reported |
| MC docket identifiers | Not reported |
| Reported physical address | 2323 PERFORMANCE WAY, COLUMBUS, OH, 43207, US |
| Reported business phone | (614) 437-0379 |
| Reported power units | 70 |
| Reported drivers | 82 |
| Reported MCS-150 date | Dec 30, 2025 |
| Company officers (as filed) | Jon St Julian |
| Carrier operation | Interstate |
| Entity type | Carrier |
| Hazmat indicator | Yes |
| Business organization (recorded at review) | Corporation |
| Latest FMCSA review | Compliance review · Oct 04, 1988 |
| Census status code | A |
| Safety rating | Satisfactory |
| Safety rating date | Mar 15, 1989 |
Fleet, equipment and drivers
COLUMBUS EQUIPMENT COMPANY reports this equipment and these drivers on its MCS-150. Owned, term-leased and trip-leased units are counted separately.
No change in power units or drivers since CarrierTrail first recorded this carrier on Sep 12, 2026.
Counts as filed on the carrier’s MCS-150. Miles per power unit divides the reported annual miles by the reported power units.
Public inspection, violation and crash summary
FMCSA public SMS input records from 2024-09-25 through 2026-09-24.
6 roadside inspections between Sep 2024 and Sep 2026, in 4 states. Inspected in 5 of 25 months; busiest May 2025 with 2.
| Inspections | 6 |
|---|---|
| Driver out-of-service rate | 0.0% (0 of 6) |
| Vehicle out-of-service rate | 0.0% (0 of 3) |
| Violations | 3 across 3 inspections |
| Out-of-service violations | 0 |
| Crashes | 0 |
| Fatal / injury / tow-away crashes | 0 / 0 / 0 |
| Fatalities / injuries reported | 0 / 0 |
| Placarded hazmat inspections | 0 · 0 with a hazmat out-of-service order |
Most frequent published violation codes
39216ADDriver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV.139216DDriver - Failed to use seat belt while operating a CMV13922SLLLRState/Local Laws - Lane restriction violation1
Crash involvement does not establish fault. Inspection summaries, safety ratings and restricted BASIC measures are different concepts.
Compare the reported Columbus record
COLUMBUS EQUIPMENT COMPANY reports 70 power units. The Columbus, Ohio directory contains 11,747 census records, of which 10,058 report at least one power unit.
Reported cargo and business classification
COLUMBUS EQUIPMENT COMPANY reports PRIVATE PROPERTY in the census and lists 6 cargo categories.
- Building materials
- Machinery and large objects
- Intermodal containers
- Oilfield equipment
- Construction
- Other: HEAVY EQUIPMENT DELIVERY AND REPAIR
Fleet size in local context
| Power units | Records | Share of all city records |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 1,689 | 14.4% |
| 1 | 6,303 | 53.7% |
| 2–5 | 2,535 | 21.6% |
| 6–20 | 881 | 7.5% |
| 21–100: this carrier’s band | 294 | 2.5% |
| Over 100 | 45 | 0.4% |
| Unknown / other | 0 | 0.0% |
Record dates and observed changes
- Added to the census (not company founding date)
- Nov 08, 1983
- Carrier-reported MCS-150 filing date
- Dec 30, 2025
- Census source publication
- Oct 28, 2026 10:49 UTC
- First observed by CarrierTrail
- Sep 12, 2026 19:56 UTC
Source publication, carrier filing and our observation dates describe different events. An older filing date alone does not establish noncompliance.
Public-field differences from up to ten recent census change events are shown below.
No public-field changes are recorded in our observation window for this carrier. This does not mean the carrier never changed its details; tracking begins at the first observation shown above.
Authority and insurance
No matching authority or insurance filings were found in the latest check.
Shared contact details
How many other records in the current FMCSA census report the same phone number or the same physical address as USDOT 239417. Companies share offices, agents and phone lines for ordinary reasons; a match is context to check, not a finding.
Explore these reported cargo categories
Building materialsMachinery and large objectsIntermodal containers
Compare declared categories across states.
Check the official record
Monitor this carrier after your review
Use a private workspace to save USDOT 239417, review contact connections and filing observations, and document your team’s decisions. This public page does not include customer notes or approval decisions.